The Village Book

In the autumn of 1910, my great-grandparents, Xaver and Johanna Hebensperger, and their infant daughter Helen, migrated to the U.S. from the village of Grafentraubach in Bavaria, Germany. They eventually settled near Hobart, Oklahoma, where they farmed and raised a family. Several children were born to them in the New World, including my grandfather, Xaver, Jr.

My parents visited Grafentraubach in November 1986 and talked with relatives, including Georg Wachter, a second cousin of my grandfather. Georg gave my parents a copy of the second edition of the “Heimatbuch Grafentraubach,” a book he helped produce that documented the history of the village and surrounding area. It was written in German, and consisted of two editions in one — the second edition was composed of supplemental pages that were bound together with the first edition. Unfortunately, the first edition was printed in the Gothic fraktur script, making it difficult to read, even for present-day Germans.

I have recently found a website that can transcribe fraktur script into a more readable font using Optical Character Recognition (OCR) technology. I am slowly digitizing the book by scanning the pages, transcribing those scans into text, and translating it into English to better understand the area my great-grandparents came from. Perhaps I may gain a better understanding of why they decided to leave.

My plan is to post three versions of the book: 1) scans of each page of the book, 2) a German transcription of those page scans, and 3) an English translation of those transcriptions. If I have the time, I may even update the index to include references to the Second Edition.

I am doing this for my relatives of German descent that settled in Kiowa County, Oklahoma, and have spread throughout the U.S.A. I am also doing it for the people of the village of Grafentraubach, Bavaria, Germany, in the event they decide to produce any subsequent editions.

Im Herbst 1910 zogen meine Urgroßeltern Xaver und Johanna Hebensperger und ihre kleine Tochter Helen, aus dem bayerischen Grafentraubach in die USA. Sie ließen sich schließlich in der Nähe von Hobart, Oklahoma, nieder, wo sie eine Familie bewirtschafteten und großzogen. In der Neuen Welt wurden ihnen mehrere Kinder geboren, darunter mein Großvater Xaver Jr.

Meine Eltern besuchten Grafentraubach November 1986 und sprachen mit Verwandten, darunter Georg Wachter, einem zweiten Cousin meines Großvaters. Georg gab meinen Eltern ein Exemplar der zweiten Ausgabe des Heimatbuchs Grafentraubach, das er mitproduzierte und das die Geschichte des Dorfes und der Umgebung dokumentierte. Es war in deutscher Sprache verfasst und bestand aus zwei Ausgaben in einer – die zweite Ausgabe bestand aus ergänzenden Seiten, die mit der ersten Ausgabe verbunden waren. Leider wurde die erste Ausgabe in der gotischen fraktur-Schrift gedruckt, was die Lesbarkeit auch für die heutigen Deutschen erschwert.

Ich habe kürzlich eine Website gefunden, die mithilfe der OCR-Technologie (Optical Character Recognition) fraktur-Skripte in eine besser lesbare Schrift umwandeln kann. Ich digitalisiere das Buch langsam indem ich die Seiten scanne, diese Scans in Text umsetze und ins Englische übersetze, um besser zu verstehen, aus welcher Gegend meine Urgroßeltern stammen. Vielleicht verstehe ich besser, warum sie sich entschieden haben zu gehen.

Mein Plan ist es, drei Versionen des Buches zu veröffentlichen: 1) Scans jeder Seite des Buches , 2) eine deutsche Transkription dieser Seitenscans und 3) eine englische Übersetzung dieser Transkriptionen . Wenn ich Zeit habe, kann ich den Index sogar aktualisieren, um Verweise auf die zweite Ausgabe aufzunehmen.

Ich tue dies für meine Verwandten deutscher Abstammung, die sich in Kiowa County, Oklahoma, niedergelassen und in den USA verbreitet haben. Ich tue dies auch für die Menschen im Dorf Grafentraubach, Bayern, Deutschland, für den Fall, dass sie sich entscheiden, welche zu produzieren nachfolgende Auflagen.

Transcriber’s note: I have tried to make this transcription of the Heimatbuch Grafentraubach as faithful to the the original as I can, both in the text and the formatting, but I am sure I have made mistakes. I you find a mistake, please let me know. Please send me an email at ronhebensperger@gmail.com and let me know the page and paragraph where the mistake is found. Thanks!
-Ron Hebensperger

Anmerkung des Transkriptors: Ich habe versucht, diese Transkription des Heimatbuchs Grafentraubach so originalgetreu wie möglich zu gestalten, sowohl im Text als auch in der Formatierung, aber ich bin mir sicher, dass mir Fehler unterlaufen sind. Wenn Sie einen Fehler finden, lassen Sie es mich bitte wissen. Bitte senden Sie mir eine E-Mail an ronhebensperger@gmail.com und teilen Sie mir die Seite und den Absatz mit, auf denen der Fehler gefunden wurde. Vielen Dank!
-Ron Hebensperger

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started